Rock Hits
Smithfield announces radio tour with 'Hey Whiskey' |

Smithfield announces radio tour with 'Hey Whiskey' |

The duo have gained a popular following SiriusXM and online

Texas-bred breakout duo, Smithfield is starting 2018 f with a bang. Not only are they set to open for Granger Smith on his winter tour, starting on January 18th at Irving Plaza in New York City, they’re also headed out on their first Billboard/Mediabase radio tour where they’ll be promoting their heart wrenching ballad, “Hey Whiskey.” The duo, who has been pegged by Rolling Stone and Billboard as “artists you should know,” made the announcement Wednesday night (Jan 10th) at their show in Nashville and explained the journey the song.

“We took it “Hey Whiskey”] in to our label at the time and were told it was ‘too dark and too depressing.’ We eventually put it in our live show and the fans connected to it instantly,” the duo says in a statement. “This time last year we were on this very stage and we toasted with all you because SiriusXM The Highway picked it up, Spotify was supporting it and CMT had it in rotation. The song took on a life its own and before we knew it everyone was singing along to it at our shows. We are so excited to announce tonight that we are taking this monster to country radio in 2018!”

The song reached No. 3 on SiriusXM’s The Highway, has 55K downloads, 2.5 million Spotify streams, and the music video has 1.4 million YouTube hits. This will be their first song hitting country radio. Rolling Stone calls the song, “a harmony-laced ballad about a lover whose true mistress is at the bottom a glass, not in bed.”

SmithField was founded in 2011 with a dream as big as their home state Texas. Comprised vocalists Trey and Jennifer, SmithField took the stage by storm with their memorable music and stunning harmonies. Having grown up together, their on-stage chemistry is undeniably genuine and natural. After only one year in Nashville, SmithField had already landed opening gigs for established artists including Eric Paslay, Scotty McCreery, Jana Kramer, Dustin Lynch, Brothers Osborne and Craig Campbell.